Mgr Keith Newton comments on Plenary Session of CBCEW

13 05 2011

Monsignor Keith Newton, Ordinary of the Personal Ordinariate of Our Lady of Walsingham, speaks about his first Plenary Session of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of England & Wales, of which he is a full member. He is introduced by the Archbishop of Westminster, the Most Revd Vincent Nichols:

+VN: Next I’d like to ask Mgr Keith, if he would put his own contribution in. We’ve welcomed him very warmly as the Ordinary of the Ordinariate of Our Lady of Walsingham, so for Keith too this was a new step.

KN: Thank you, Father. Well this was my first visit to the Plenary Session of the Bishops’ Conference, so it was something of a baptism for me, particularly as I had to report on the Ordinariate, and I was the first item on the agenda – which I thought was a bit rich, but there we are!

I had an opportunity to tell the Conference what’s been happening about the Ordinariate – how it’s been developing – to remind them of some of the challenges that are in front of us and some of the things that have been achieved. And we had a good discussion – for about 40 minutes, I think – about the Ordinariate.

I certainly felt very welcome and at home at the Conference – I enjoyed being there. Like all conferences, there are fascinating bits, and there are some that are slightly more tedious – but that’s the way conferences are. So I was very glad to be there and felt, very much, part of the family. I’m very grateful to the bishops, most of whom I’d met before, though one or two I’d not – but I was able to get to know them better, and so the next time I go I’ll feel even more at home.

+VN: Thank you very much, Keith.


Actions

Information